McHenry County College Board appoints new president, trustee

Sarah Nader - snader@shawmedia.com McHenry County College's Board members appointed Linda Liddell (left) to chair of the board and Tom Allen as trustee during a special meeting Thursday, Jan. 4, 2018 in Crystal Lake.[]

CRYSTAL LAKE – McHenry County College’s Board of Trustees has a new leader after Thursday’s special meeting.

Board members appointed Linda Liddell as president of the board Thursday night. Liddell also is the former president – and current board member – of the Illinois Community College Trustee Association and was vice chairwoman of the McHenry County College board.

“I think that kind of geared me toward a role like this,” Liddell said. “I am very excited.”

Liddell will fill former board President Chris Jenner’s role through April. Her term on the board expires in 2023.

Jenner resigned from his position on the board in November to move to Florida with his wife, citing weather and property tax reasons.

Liddell said she wants to make sure she represents the board as a whole and communicates effectively through her service as board president.

“We have got quite a few great initiatives, so we have to make sure we get through those,” she said. “Especially the new science building and some of the additional fundraising that needs to be completed.”

The board also appointed Tom Allen to a trustee position Thursday after several hours in closed session.

Allen, of Lakewood, ran for a seat on the board in the 2017 election but failed to secure a spot. His interest hadn’t waned, however, he said. Allen will take the spot vacated by Jenner, which is up for election in 2019.

Allen said one of his main priorities is to make sure the construction of the $16.8 million Liebman Science Center goes smoothly.

“I want to make sure the Liebman center keeps moving forward, and that the board keeps working to do the best we can to promote student success,” Allen said.

Allen is an MCC alumnus, taught at the school and currently is on the Friends of the McHenry County College board. He was named 2017 Leadership of Greater McHenry County Distinguished Alumni of the Year.